Our Dedicated Team


Our Staff


Brett Perlman
CEO, Center for Houston’s Future

Laura Goldberg
Vice President, Strategic Initiatives and Communications

Russell Richard
Vice President, Leadership and Engagement

Steven Scarborough
Manager, Strategic Initiatives

Amanda Duda
Manager, Development and Grants

Elizabeth Rhodes


Board of Directors


George A. DeMontrond, III
DeMontrond Automotive Group, Inc.

Eugene H. Vaughan
Chairman and CEO
Vaughan Investments, LP
Founding Chairman
Board Member Emeritus

Jim Ajello
Former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Hawaiian Electric Industries

Scott Ballard
Executive Vice President Human Resources
Shell Oil Company

Brent A. Benoit
Vice President, and Chief Compliance Officer
National Oilwell Varco

Astley Blair
Chief Financial Officer
Marine Well Containment Company

William Clayton
VP Mass Retention Sales
Reliant, an NRG Company

Licia Green
Waterman Steele

Vean Gregg
Managing Partner
Local Capital Partners

Kenneth Guidry
Pannell Kerr Forster of Texas, P.C.

Karen Otazo Hofmeister, Ph.D.
Managing Director
Global Leadership Network

Jonathan Homeyer
Executive Vice President and Division Manager, Commercial Banking
Wells Fargo

Harris “Shrub” Kempner, Jr.
Kempner Capital Management, Inc.

Stephen Klineberg, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology, Rice University; Founding Director, Kinder Institute for Urban Research

Stan Marek
President and CEO
Marek Companies

Juliet McBride
King & Spalding

Ruthanne Mefford
Executive Director and CEO
Child Advocates of Fort Bend

Manolo Sanchez
Former Chairman and CEO
BBVA Compass

Andy Steinhubl

Y. Ping Sun
University Representative, Rice University and Attorney at Law, Yetter & Coleman, LLP

Freddy Warner
Chief Government Relations Officer Memorial Hermann Health System

Ex- Officio Members

Bob Harvey
President and CEO,
Greater Houston Partnership

Scott McClelland
President, Houston Division
H-E-B Grocery Company, L.P.

Umesh Verma
President and CEO,


Advisory Council


Linda Addison
Norton Rose Fulbright, LLP

E. William Barnett
Retired, Baker Botts, LLP

Leslie Blanton
Community Volunteer

Robert Bruce
Rice University

James Calaway
Calaway Interests

Richard Campo
Camden Property Trust

Phil Conway
JPMorgan Chase Bank Texas

Rufus Cormier
Baker Botts, LLP

James Dannenbaum
Dannenbaum Engineering Corporation

Irma Diaz-Gonzalez
Employment & Training Centers, Inc.

The Honorable Ed Emmett
Rice University

Kelly Frels
Bracewell, LLP

Roger Galatas
Roger Galatas Interests

Harry Gee, Jr.
Harry Gee, Jr. and Associates

George Y. Gonzalez
Haynes and Boone, LLP

John Hofmeister
Citizens for Affordable Energy

Ned S. Holmes
Parkway Investments/Texas

Lynne Humphries
Allen Boone Humphries Robinson, LLP

Reneé Logans
Access Data Supply, Inc.

George Martinez
Allegiance Bank

Wayne McConnell
McConnell & Jones LLP

Steven Miller
SLM Discovery Ventures

John L. Nau, III
Silver Eagle Distributors, LP

James R. Royer
AECOM Technology Corp.

Walter Tomlinson
Statesman Business Advisors, LLC

Bruce Coulson Tough
Tough Law Firm, PLLC

The Honorable Sylvester Turner
City of Houston

The Honorable Bill White
Former Mayor - City of Houston now Senior Advisor and Chairman of Houston Banking, Lazard Freres & Co

Rosie Zamora
Retired, Houston Wilderness